Blogging Award???

Liebster Blog Award

Normally, on a Thursday morning at 9 am I would be deep in some big project at the office but since I work in a tax department the days following “April 15” (this year 4/18) are “personal recovery days” or free time off.

So this morning, after cooking a leisurely breakfast and making a pot of French press I thought I would sit down and finalize one of my #BrightOrangeShoes drafted posts. Upon opening wordpress, in my news feed was a post by pinkbutterflyfittness explaining that she was nominated for the Liebster Blog Award. So cool! I read through her post and realized she had nominated me for the Liebster Award as well.

Now I am curious. What is the Liebster Blog Award anyway? After a quick google search I found out that this award is passed around in the blogging world and was created to “recognize and/or discover new bloggers and welcome them to the blogosphere.”

#BrightOrangeShoes started out as a test, to see if I could hold myself accountable for my running goals and to help me get hands on experience in the digital world, as I have a passion for the digital marketing space. I had no idea that readers would follow my runs, comment on posts, or even like my page; but it is happening and it makes me gleam with excitement. Thank you PinkButterflyFittness! I cannot express to you how much this means to me and #BrightOrangeShoes.

Part of accepting the nomination is that I have to answer a few questions from the blogger who nominated me. My answers are this:

1- Why did you start blogging?

I have a passion for running and wanted a place where everything I learn about marathon training and health and fitness could live together. It was getting overboard with my 2 Pinterest boards, Facebook likes/comments, and Runkeeper posts. Now they can all live/link to one place. I have also been taking a digital marketing certification class that briefly touched on blogging, and I couldn’t wait to try it out.

2- What is your passion?

I have a passion for learning. Things today are changing at exponential rates and the knowledge learned yesterday will not always apply to tomorrow. I am curious to know “everything” but know that is not possible. In the world of running coaching opinions are always different and the only way to know what “works” is to test them out.

3- What is your idea of a perfect day?

A perfect day is sunny, around 60 degrees and happens to fall on my “long run” day. It would start early around 7 am where the first part of my run is accompanied by a rising sun and then is followed by a few hours of effortless peace. My mind would wander and my feet would just go.

4- If you could be anywhere right now, where would it be and why?

If I could be anywhere right now, I would be on my grandma’s back porch surrounded by my parents, 2 sisters, 5 cousins, my grandparents, 2 aunts and 2 uncles, with my boyfriend, sharing carrot cake and coffee and watching the chickens run around in the backyard, just like the old

5- Who are your favorite Instagramers?

Catsofbellingham – My neighbor from college is an amazing photographer and captures local cats with his camera. I love it!

The_altman – My friend and yogi extraordinaire is not afraid to try anything. He posts things from amazing inverted yoga flows to skydiving to watching the aura borealis in northern Alaska. He is a true inspiration.

6- Name one thing you can’t leave without.

I can’t live without “me time”. There are people, places, and things I love and that I would struggle without, but when I don’t have time to reflect on myself I struggle with positivity. Running is my “me time” and helps me see the good surrounding me. It helps to untangle the knots of confusion and struggle.

7- What is your favorite workout clothes brand?

This is tough! I love my Lululemon, but everything I have from Lorna Jane I look forward to wearing. Let’s just say, I spend a lot of my day at work planning my workout based on what Lorna Jane piece is clean. 🙂

8- What is your favorite sport?

Volleyball – hands down. I started running because of volleyball and there is something about all the volleyballers I meet that just fit in my life. I have a special relationship with those I am on the court with.

9- It’s a miserable day outside and you have to keep yourself occupied, what do you do?

Watch Castle (I love this show!), rearrange rooms in my apartment, read a book, or – of course – #BrightOrangeShoes blogging.

10- What animal best represents you and why?

Cats! I am curious but careful. I like my time alone but love people as well. I also have a cat named Lily, she is wonderful! 🙂

11- If you could time travel, would you go back into the past or ahead to the future?

I like your answer PinkButterflyFittness. I would go in the past when I had no cares or worries. Or at least the worries I did have were simple.

I am still new to blogging but from those I follow I nominate the below for the Liebster Award:

My questions for you:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What is your inspiration?
  3. Name one thing you can’t life without.
  4. What is your favorite outfit?
  5. Barefoot or shoes?
  6. Beach or mountain and why?
  7. What is your favorite season and why?
  8. What is the best book you have ever read?
  9. Describe your favorite food to eat.
  10. Describe your favorite food to cook.
One thought on “Blogging Award???

Leave a Reply

