Running:  A Love Story

Running: A Love StoryThe best push to keep those 18 weeks going strong always ends with a good, inspiring memoir from other marathoners or ultra-runners. Reading about Olympian’s and world class runner’s real life struggles and challenges act like my checkpoint. It helps me see that what may seem like a “someday goal” can become a reality before I know it, mile by mile.

Post half, I needed some inspiration to get my butt in gear to complete a marathon by the end of the year, as I promised myself. So I searched amazon.com and found a book called “Running: a Love Story”. It is a memoir written by Jen A. Miller about her love/hate relationship with running. In just over 200 pages Miller shares her realistic emotions toward the sport. She explains how running began as form of punishment which evolved to strictly aid weight-loss but soon developed in to the driving “light at the end of the tunnel” to guided her through life struggles; including career changes, relationship failures, and financial crisis.

Throughout the book, I found myself thinking “O! Been there!” and “That is on my bucket list.” It brought me back through the emotional rollercoaster that I felt while training. The social and physical struggles were brought back to life and got me thinking it is time to get back out there, only a week after finishing a half.

Each chapter or section starts out explaining Miller’s experience or thoughts from the in the middle of a race, starting from 5 & 10Ks moving to her first attempt at a half marathon, and then a full marathon. Her struggles in that moment are justified by the back story that fallows and slowly puts her life together for the reader. Miller is truly an inspiration and shows that pushing past challenges, a runner can find peace and comfort it their time on the road, the same way that #BrightOrangeShoes have aided me.

5 thoughts on “Running:  A Love Story

  1. I listen to audio books on my commute to work and recently enjoyed “My Year of Running Dangerously” by Tom Foreman. I’ll have to add “Running: a Love Story” to my list of books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

