It is never too late.

wp-1479663492155.jpgIt is never too late. I’ve heard people say that everywhere, regarding everything. It is never too late to try something new. It is never too late to change. There are revelations of people in their forties starting over. Sixty year olds running marathons and breaking boundaries, but is that a real thing? Do people really start over, or start something new this that late in the game? I mean, I am only 27 but it feels like if I really wanted to try something new I should have done it years ago. Not now! Right?!

Regardless, one thing I have learned over the past few years is that starting over is hard, and starting something new is even harder. My first go around with marathon training took some major adjustment in my routine social habits, eating habits, and thinking habits. Better yet, it took me almost 3 years after college to sign up for my first organized 5k! I always thought I was an athlete but the idea of running for a purpose with “real runners” was daunting. Frankly, I was intimidated by the whole idea.

As much as I would love to say that I am down to try new things, I am always looking for ways to create consistencies, not change. That being said, at first I did not like training. At all! And honestly, it never occurred to me that one day I would actually run a whole marathon. I mean, I definitely didn’t think of myself as a runner.

Yet here I am, addicted to the feeling of self-love and gratitude that overwhelms me at the finish line. How did I even get here? I took a chance.

For anyone else out there, who might be intimidated by “real runners”; after 2 marathons 5 halves, and countless 5k’s, I still don’t really consider myself a runner. I have more that 5% body fat and struggle getting to the gym most mornings. I sweat buckets during the “warm up” and am not fast. But, the one thing I will say is that the self-love and gratitude at the finish line drives me to work through challenges and change. If I didn’t get out there a try something new, I would have never experienced any of that.

Marathons, half marathons, 15ks, 10ks, and 5ks; they have showed me, step by step, that it really is never too late to try something new. In the end, anything that requires hard work and may cause struggle are worth it. Just know it won’t be easy.

Now get out there and try something new. Let that be your gift to yourself this holiday season.

Much LOVE !
#BrightOrangeShoes

Leave a Reply

