The Runner’s Dilemma  

wp-1483514960300.jpgAll this hype about resolution-er’s has me feeling like I am on a ban-wagon. So before I go any further, can we be clear about one thing; #BrightOrangeShoes is a lifestyle thing, not a January 1st – January 10th thing, I promise! 🙂

This morning I forced myself out of bed at ten after 6 and hit the gym. I started this new ab circuit that I couldn’t wait to get to. Pretty sure I have said this over and over again; it is really hard to get out of bed in the morning, but it is even harder to have to cut a workout short because I got up late. There are definitely days I wish I could spend hours doing my workout.

Today my gym time had me on a high that I couldn’t shake. Around lunch time I notice myself slouching and when I tried to straighten up my back/neck/shoulders/armpits were sooooo sore. It dawned on me that my low rep/high weight circuit had to be the culprit.

As the day progressed, my workout high remained on my mind, as well as the ache in my upper body. Past coaches have said the best way to make sore muscles go away is to keep working out. So naturally the second I got home I wanted to slip back in my #BrightOrangeShoe and get some cardio in.

That’s the runner’s dilemma; to know when to rest and when to push harder. The best advice I have ever been told is to “listen to your body”. Sometimes my mind tells me to keep going and push hard, but my body says otherwise. Today my body was telling me to take it slow.

For all you resolution-er’s out there, remember to take it slow and listen to your body. If you enjoyed the holiday season like I did with lots of rest, big AMAZING meals, and holiday cheer (aka Wine – lol); then take it slow to start. Trust me, you will thank me later.

#Fail: …just to share… one time I decided it would be a good idea to do 20 minutes of abs with the medicine balls in our gym, and I rounded up on the weights I started with. For an entire 7 days following that gym session I could not stand up straight. My abs were on fire and I walked around like a hunchback. Then the week after, my entire abdominal region was swollen and sore, but at least I could straighten my back. Trust me when I say that was a bad idea. I definitely should have taken it slow.

Happy sweating!

Leave a Reply

