Strive to Excel, not to Compete

I was in a yoga class last week and the instructor said something that really resonated with me. She said “strive to excel, not to compete.”  At that moment, a light bulb went off in my head. wp-1490660795296.jpg

Everywhere people are competing with each other. We competed in our careers, while playing video games, while driving, for money, athletically, and so on. I even find myself competing with others in yoga classes. It is a part of our nature; I mean survival of the fittest right?!

Aside from all the moments I am trying to be better than someone else, while running I can honestly say I have never felt like I am competing with anyone. Maybe that is why for so long I wouldn’t call myself a runner? Maybe that is why it took so long for me to sign up for a 5k/Half/Full Marathon? Maybe that is why I never call my runs “races”?! (The light bulb keeps going off!!) 🙂 For whatever reason though, running has always been an activity to better myself, for myself. *wp-1490640324203.jpg

Without competition though, sometimes my motivation falls. It is so much easier to say “maybe tomorrow” when the competition isn’t there but I have learned the power of goal setting. Instead of competing with other people, I try to reach a goal or run toward my own finish lines – if you will. Goals give me a direction and a sense of motivation. While training, I don’t need to out run anyone, I just need to move forward.

Until that yoga class, striving to excel always seemed a little hazy. All I really knew was that I was trying to move forward. Now it is clear. I don’t try to win, I strive for new personal records; to excel not to compete.

You do you, and I’ll do me.

❤ #BrightOrangeShoes

 

*Full disclosure: I have never run competitively on any team or a part of any group. I can imagine that personal excellence is a driving factor to people who have run for year, and have professional titles.

Leave a Reply

