Sunday Runday!

Sunday RundayAs a Washington native, I have learned that no matter the temperature outside, if it is sunny and there are blue skies, it is time to go outside. In the Pacific Northwest, the weather rarely stays the same for more than an hour and usually by the time i have my shoes tied it has already changed.

Sunday morning; after a week of wind, rain, hail, and sun, I woke up before my alarm to a beautiful April sky. The sun was shining and there was not even one cloud.  The second I realized what I was looking at, I jumped out of bed and hustled to hit the road.

Up until the end of the driveway (it was a very long drive way – .3 miles), I convinced myself that it was too cold and I needed go back, get in the covers,  and warm up. Then I turned the corner and there is was. The rising sun in front of me, starting the day with me, managed to changed my mind. I told myself to power through the cold shadows to get those moments in the sun.

As all challenges bring doubt, the taste of that shining sun holds as a constant reminder of why I push myself to keep moving forward, even when it feels like I am being pushed back.

This Sunday run was a reminder of the trudges I have been wading through. It reminded me that after the shadows there is always a moment of brightness. It just takes one thought of “just one more mile, then I can turn around” that leads to another and before I know it almost 6 miles have passed.

No matter how cold it is outside, or how hard the challenge standing in front of me is, I will keep going to get a taste of that sunshine, because – damn it – everyday should be a Sunday-Runday!

Shine on and run hard!

❤ #BrightOrangeShoes

Leave a Reply

